Winter Olympics History—Founding, Facts & Sites


The Winter Olympics are an international sports competition held every four years. The event, also called the Winter Games, includes cold-weather events on snow (skiing, snowboarding, biathlon) and ice (figure skating, hockey, speed skating, curling, bobsled, luge, skeleton). Six sports have appeared in every Winter Olympics: cross-country skiing, figure skating, hockey, Nordic combined, ski jumping and speed skating.

While smaller in scale than the Summer Olympics, the Winter Games have grown from roughly 250 athletes competing in 16 events at the first competition in 1924 to more than 2,800 in 102 events at the 2018 Winter Games.


Source link