Governing body for U.S. golf is founded


On December 22, 1894, the Amateur Golf Association of the United States—later renamed the United States Golf Association—is formed in New York to govern the sport. Five charter golf clubs join to form the association—Newport (Rhode Island) Golf Club; St. Andrews Golf Club in Westchester County, New York; Chicago Golf Club in Wheaton, Illinois; Shinnecock Hills Golf Club in Southampton, New York; and The Country Club in Brookline, Massachusetts.

The Amateur Golf Association of the United States became necessary when the Newport Golf Club and St. Andrews Golf Club hosted amateur tournaments in the summer of 1894 and each labeled their tournament the national championship. Before the final day of the latter tournament, it was announced that in the ensuing months, an association composed of the five clubs would be formed, develop a written set of rules for the sport and oversee a universally recognized championship.


Source link