How Many Times Has the US Has Officially Declared War?


The United States has officially declared war 11 times during five separate military conflicts. According to the Constitution (Article I, Section 8), Congress has the exclusive power to declare war. The last time America declared war was during World War II. The Korean War, the War in Vietnam, and the extended campaigns in Afghanistan and Iraq were never stamped with congressional declarations of war. 

1. War of 1812 

USS Constitution and the HMS Guerriere during the War of 1812

The USS Constitution and the HMS Guerriere battle approximately 400 miles southeast of Halifax, Nova Scotia during the War of 1812.


Source link